New kid on the block

So now I’m the newest member on the Cyanotype bandwagon. Everyone’s printing one and I just had to get my hands on the negative of one of Vivek’s lovely pictures for his Pao story and try printing it as a Cyanotype.

To be honest, I am not quite sure as to how satisfied I am with the result. I mean, I love the colour – that beautiful Prussian Blue. But I feel that the detail on the left could have come out a tad better.

First Cyanotype

This, I was told by my patient teacher, was due to the picture being “high contrast” and there being a need to re-work the negative perhaps. But maybe it was just me – maybe I did something wrong, and when a pro tries their hand at it, it’ll turn around completely.

But regardless of this being only a partial success, my next baby step is going to be towards all those virtual tools these guys keep fiddling with to prepare a flawless negative to their brilliant pictures. With my own memory snap this time…
I’m on my way — Surajdotcom, here I come!

For those interested in this dibble-dabble by an absolute novice, below are the details of the process I followed:

Date: March 28, 2013

Took a mixture of:
1. 2.5 gm of Ferric Ammonium Citrate in 10 ml of distilled water
2. 2 gm of Potassium Ferricyanide in 10 ml of distilled water Added 1 and 2 to make the solution.

Painted an 8 x 12 paper sheet of Fabriao artistico coldpress 300gsm with 2 ml of the final solution (above).
Let it dry.
Used Vivek’s negative over the coated paper, sandwiched between glass and left outside in the sun for the exposure, between 1.15 pm to 1.50 pm.
Temperature: 29.3 C
Humidity: 63%
After the stipulated period, removed paper from sunlight and wash it in tap water to which a pinch of citric acid has been added.
Et voila!

Seeing as post this first foray I am constantly going to badger all of them to let me make some prints with them – I will definitely keep you updated about my progress.
This entire process of starting with a blank sheet and bringing to life a memory has been just so terribly exciting that I can’t wait to start on the next!

This entry was posted in Altlab 3.0. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

